Another Poem

Posted on May 24, 2010

8


I am young. I am unwise. I don’t always fit in.

I can’t sing, dance, or write a beautiful symphony.

I’m not a poet. I’m not an author. I’m not an artist.

I’m not well known. I’m not famous. I’ll never be on TV.

I’m not preacher. I’m not a scholar. I’m not a leader or theologian.

I’m not well educated. I’m not highly intelligent. I’m not a college graduate.

I’m not married. I don’t have kids. I don’t have a girlfriend.

I’m not rich. I’m not ambitious. I don’t own anything.

I’m a nobody, another face in the crowd. Another fading leaf that has fallen to the ground.

But in You, I AM.

By your strength I can sing, I can dance, I can write!

Through Your grace I can preach, I can learn, I can marry!

In Your life I can be rich, I can live, I am somebody.

In Your Son I am a blooming flower attached to a branch that’s on the Tree.

That tree is Christ. The Branch is Christ and in You I am whole.

Learn to be, breath the air around us. See the sights You have created. Hear the sounds You orchestrate from heaven. Taste the mist of your sweet manna from above. Smell Your sweet aroma from the Saints all around.

Blessed be the name of our Lord, Jesus Christ. He is the only one worthy of our art. The only one worthy of our praise. The only one worthy of our lives.

To You, oh Jesus, we sing our songs. May we always draw our strength from You, alone.

Amen.

Posted in: Poetry