The Ultimate Gift

Posted on September 13, 2010

7


What seems to be the number one question of all, if not most young (and old) Christians is, “What is my spiritual gift? Am I gifted in evangelism, prophesy, teaching, pastoring, or the like?” I must admit I’ve asked this question several times and reached the same conclusion which I didn’t like. I was told by several brothers I look up to that Christ is our gift. And chances are that if I am gifted, it may not even be noticeable by me. Also, I was told that we won’t be identified by our gifts. At least we’re not suppose to. Many believers have made this a center-piece in their spiritual diet when these “gifts” are given so that we may glorify Christ and build each member of the body up in love. Not for own self-indulgence or to be seen as “exta-spiritual.” This, to my flesh, is bad news. This means that I can’t use the gifts of the Spirit for my own glory. They are solely for Christ and to build up His body, the church.

So, I’ve been pondering this the past few months as I’m learning who Christ is through the Body of believers here in Gainesville. I’m in the midst of discovering who I am in this life and what my “calling” in the Lord is. I’ve spent hours and hours trying to find the answer to the question, “What on earth is my gift in the Lord?” My conclusion? Christ. He is my gift. He is the ultimate gift, the pursuit of my life. My grand mission, my agenda, my calling. Or at least He’s supposed to be. This of course may be easy to say but to really grab hold of that reality is quite difficult. My own glory and honor isn’t in the Father’s itinerary. Instead, it’s His Son Jesus Christ. So, Christ is our gift and any/all other gifts of the Spirit are to point to Him. Not something we use to bring attention to ourselves.

With that in mind, what is the best “spiritual gift” a human being can acquire? Good question. I believe I’ve discovered the answer. Now, I could very well be wrong but only time will reveal that.

 In my opinion, the ultimate gift, or place in which to be as a Christian spiritually is this: to be solely devoted to Christ and His holy purpose without the need of receiving, even things holy and good. To be lacking the “gifts”, to be lacking the “blessings”, to fall short of being seen as a “great Christian” and to have Christ still burning within his/her heart. I don’t know about you, but that’s where I want to be. To be so captured, enthralled, and in love with the Lord Christ Jesus, that all other things can be counted as loss.

Paul was an extremely gifted individual. But at the end of his life he wrote these most beautiful words,

But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things, I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own…

(Phil. 3:7-9)

 What a blessed place to be as a mere mortal. To realize that Christ and His purpose, goal, and vision is the only thing worth receiving.

Posted in: Spiritual Living