Enjoying Christ

Posted on May 10, 2011

15


Christ can be enjoyed. I know for me this isn’t something that comes easily. I’m a “do-er”, I have the hardest time sitting still and not doing anything. I’m always thinking, always doing something with my hands, always theorizing, etc. It never stops for someone like me.

Now, to American ethics and morals this may sound like a good thing. And I’m certainly not saying it’s a bad thing. But often, when it comes to things of Christ, it’s not always a good thing. Instead, it’s often a hinderance of growth. I wear myself out with doing and thinking and trying. Every time the Lord gives me fresh revelation of Himself (a new aspect of Christ or a deeper intimacy with Him) I take what He shows me as though it is a tool He is giving my to use. Almost like He is saying to me, “Michael, here is an aspect of Me, now put your human hands on it and use it for this or for that.” This is utterly wrong on my part. If I come to this conclusion, then I have misunderstood our Lord Jesus Christ.

I have learned, and strongly believe, that God will never give us something of Himself as a tool for our own human effort and striving to use for the “good”. No, He shows us things of Himself for that very reason–to show us more of Himself. That’s it.

This line of thinking is completely contrary to our typical mindsets–especially in the United States. We are often times a people who are all about production and numbers. We measure church “success” by how many souls are saved, how many attend our church, how good the pastor is at convincing us that we need to act better, how many sins and imperfections in character we have overcome.

So how does God measure “success” in a person’s life? Easy, it is how much of His Son is being expressed and manifested in that individual or church. Not how much of His Son is trying to be expressed by human effort and will, but how much love for Jesus Christ. Love for Jesus isn’t measured by how much striving and trying we do to please God. It’s not measured by how much emotion you feel about Him, how much zeal you may have for His workings. No, it is measured by trials, by death to self, by just how far you are willing to go to know Him better.

The holiest words Paul the apostle ever uttered were, “That I may know Him.” (Phil. 3:10 NASB)

That is what a captured heart looks like. Not by how many “crusades” we’re willing to go on, not by how many blogs we write, books we publish, messages we preach, sins we overcome, or how many souls we save. No, it is that we may know the Son and that is our only aim in life; our only goal in waking up every morning.

Christ can be enjoyed as we get to know Him, as we rest in Him, and as we let go and trust Him. We don’t have to put our hands on things any longer. The Father sent His only begotten Son to put His hands on your life. Trust His hands. Love His hands. For they were pierced for this very purpose.

Amen.

I can’t wait to know Him better!

Posted in: Spiritual Living