Book Review: “The Community Life of God” by Milt Rodriguez

Posted on October 11, 2011

2


First I’d like to start this review off by introducing you to the man behind the book, Milt Rodriguez.

I first met Milt and his wife, Mary, in Florida a couple of years ago. I had the pleasure of spending some time with Milt and Mary in their home (when they lived here) and their vicious beast of a dog, Roxy (actually, she’s harmless).

There aren’t many people in this world like these two individuals. Their humble hearts, their Solomon-like wisdom, and their unrelenting pursuit and service to the their Lord Jesus Christ is found, displayed, and expressed in their lives in such a way that it rubs off on all those who have contact with them.

I can say that Milt, specifically, has had quite a lasting impact on my life that will never fade. The work and labor of this man to the Lord goes way beyond simply writing a few books. These are only a small portion of his ministry and testimony. I have watched him in person labor for the Lord and His precious Bride, the church. There is no doubt in my mind that this man and his wife have a rich reward in the Kingdom and will most certainly hear the words of our Lord say to them, “Well done, good and faithful servants. Enter now into the reward of your Father.”

With that in my mind, allow me to give my thoughts on one of his books.

The God Who is Community

The God who is Community is the title of the first chapter in one of Milt’s most powerful, most mind-bending, and most Christ-magnifying works to date.

I first heard Milt give a message along these lines (that the Triune God is Community) at an Organic Church meeting last year, and again at the Threshold 2011 Conference in July 2011. I must admit that the first time I heard this message, I was quite reluctant to believe it. It was too big, too mind-bending for my feeble mind to comprehend. How could God, the Creator of all, be in community…and still be One God? But as I began, first, experiencing community life with a group of believers, and then began to dig more into the life of Jesus while He was on earth, did I finally begin to realize that Milt had made a discovery that was indeed true–and rarely taught.

So after hearing The God Who is Community for a second time, and after some things within me began stirring after the message, I went right to the back of the conference room (they had some of his books for sale there) and bought a copy of The Community Life of God. I also got a copy of Mary Rodriguez’s (Milt’s wife) book Return to the Wild. I began reading it that very night in my hotel room and finished about a week later at home. Upon reading it many things about God that I thought were things that God did “just because He was God” became more clear. I began to see why God did things the way He did: why He created, why He established the Church, and much more. I suddenly realized that without viewing a God who is community, many things in the Christian walk don’t make sense! Even our theology, to me, doesn’t make sense without a community-bound God. Eureka! Light bulb!

The Tree and the Seed

In Chapters 6-8 Milt compares Christ to the Tree of Life in the Garden of Eden. He goes in, chapter by chapter, and describes in detail the eternal purpose of God through the Church and how that looks for you and me. He also threads through and finds the very reason why Christ came to earth. It was for a much larger, much more glorious reason than just redemption.

Though redemption is such a beautiful thing in and of itself, there was a purpose God had in creating before mankind ate from the wrong tree and the “fall” occurred. Milt describes beautifully how Christ not only was the Lamb of God, but also the Seed sent to earth to be planted…to grow into many trees with the very life of God living with in them.

The Big “Why?”

Mankind’s most ancient of questions is “Why?”. Why am I here? What is my purpose? Why did God make me and what does that look like?

Though we may never fully understand these questions or be able to answer them within the sphere of time and physical being, I believe Milt has done a fantastic job at it.

The reason for everything is Christ. The reason why we are saved, the reason why we were made, the reason we have this entity called the Church, is to manifest, express, and make God known through Jesus Christ. He is the Perfect Man and showed us what being human is all about. He lived by the life of the Father and always pointed us to the Father. The Father, when He speaks, always point us to Christ. The Holy Spirit was sent to point us to the Father and to Christ.

So there is this wonderful mutual sharing of one-another within the Triune God. They are constantly giving all they have to one-another. They are constantly speaking about one-another. And they each live inside of one-another! Talk about mind-bending!

So our purpose in living is the same. However, we aren’t just sent here to display this Christ as individuals. We aren’t an island in and to ourselves. This wasn’t how Jesus lived, and it’s not how we are to live.

In The Community Life of God, Milt puts into words how you and are to share in this glorious community of the Godhead…with one-another.

I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll let you read for yourself :).

Helpful Links

Below are some helpful links to more info on the Milt and Mary’s ministry and the book.

Order Here

The Rebuilders Website (Milt and Mary’s Ministry)

Milt’s Blog

More Books by Milt and Mary Rodriguez

