The Better Way: A Quick Word on Serving Jesus

Posted on August 22, 2017

8


Hello folks!

Sorry it’s been awhile since I’ve published anything on this site. My wife, Heather, and I have been extremely busy. We’ve also been learning a lot about Jesus and walking with Him as a couple. I do plan on continuing to contribute to this blog. In fact, I have a lot of ideas for future articles and even videos.

I appreciate everyone’s continued support of not only this site and our accompanying Facebook and Instagram pages, but us as a couple.

Below is a short blurb about something I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks now. Enjoy!

——

Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.” But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-42 NASB)

One of the first things I wanted to do as a new Christian in 2008 and even as a renewed follower of Christ was to serve Him, to be doing things “for the Kingdom”. I wanted to serve at Church, wanted to evangelize, preach, blog, etc. These are all wonderful things, to be sure. But I believe, especially as a I get older, that there is a better way.

It seems like so many of us Christians, especially us in our twenties and thirties, are so busy for God, so busy doing, we miss the prize. We miss Christ. We get so caught up in playing the religious game, we get burned out, exhausted, and in the end, it damages our faith.

Jesus had something to say about this.

In Luke 10 two of Jesus’ female disciples were serving Jesus. Martha was busy preparing for a meal for Jesus and His disciples. Mary, on the other hand, was simply sitting at the Teacher’s feet, listening and watching.

Martha, Mary’s sister, wanted Jesus to rebuke her for not helping.

Both loved Him. Both cared deeply for Him. But only one of them was said to be doing “the good part.”–Mary. Martha was busy doing. Mary, on the other hand, was simply being and listening. mary-and-martha-jesus

Being enraptured with the Lord Jesus is, it appears from this passage, the highest form of service to our Lord. Not staying busy.

Martha wasn’t sinning, by any means. And her part of the work was essential. This doesn’t give us a free pass to inactivity. No, but before we can serve in His power and blessing, we must take the way of Mary.

“Have our eyes been opened to see the preciousness of the One whom we are serving? …Have we recognized that working for the poor, for the benefit of the world, working for the souls of men and for the eternal good of the sinner–all these so necessary and valuable things…In themselves, as things apart, they are as nothing compared with the work that is done to the Lord.” -Watchman Nee, The Normal Christian Life 

Amen.

**Post Script**

As many of you may already know, I real a LOT of books. I love to read. I read mostly books about Christ and living the Christian life, but am also a huge fan of literature. Within the Christian books genre, I read a wide variety of differing theological backgrounds. For example, I may read a book about the gifts of the Spirit one day, then a book written by a Southern Baptist the next (don’t ask me to tell you the authors on these, it’s just an example). So something I want to start including at the end of each post is a list of the books I’m currently reading. So, here goes:

The Normal Christian Life, Watchman Nee (highly recommend, I read this at least once a year)

The School of Christ, T. Austin-Sparks (finally reading this one. It’s blowing my circutry.)

Jesus Speaks, Leonard Sweet & Frank Viola (read it twice already.)

 

 

Posted in: Spiritual Living