Gazing Upon God through Christ

Posted on August 2, 2011

9


One of the coolest things about our God is that He reveals Himself in the most unlikely ways, at the most unlikely times. Sometimes when I’m not even looking for Him, He pops up to say hello. Oh how often we can miss Him when He does this, we need only have our eyes open and ready to see Him for Him to reveal Himself (I still think it’s amazing that the God we read about in the Bible is so willing to show us who He is–to show us, tiny people who fade like the flower, what He’s like).

I lease apartments for a living here in Gainesville. That involves showing people around the property, showing them the model apartment home, and also showing them vacants if they wish to see it. This is the busiest time of the year in leasing, the end of July, beginning of August. We call this time “turn” or, “turn-over” because most of our leases end on July 31st and many new leases begin August 1-10 or so. We work long hours during this time of year, weekends and all. So today (Friday), was considered the first real day of “turn”. It will go through Sunday (this post won’t be live until Tuesday, so if I don’t survive turn, don’t expect any more posts 🙂 ) Today was one of the busiest days I’ve experienced in the 15 months I’ve been with the company. We had lots of new move-ins, several move-outs, and lots of tours.

Today I was on this tour in the midst of shucking and jiving through the hours of the day–doing tours, paperwork, and running errands for my manager. I was showing this girl and her boyfriend an apartment they were considering renting (they wanted an apartment that was close to the office and pool), and as I was walking them to it, the Lord, completely out of nowhere, shows me something of Himself.

Here’s how it happened:

I was walking in front of the couple, they were discussing prices with one-another behind me, and I looked up and saw the Sun hiding behind a cloud. Typically, this is most clichĂ© “google image” of God–a big, bright sun shining behind a cloud, with its rays beaming from the sides, making it look all glorious. I remember thinking how beautiful it was; I even think I said something out loud while they were talking to each other, something like, “Oh, wow. That’s beautiful.” I then began to wonder why it was so popular to associate this “clichĂ©” image to God every time we see it. In fact, right now, Google Image search “God” and I guarantee a similar image will pop up on the first page.

But then it hit me. This really is a wonderful picture, shadow, image, expression, example, etc. of our Christ–of God Himself.

God is light. We know this from 1 John 1:5. The Sun represents Him. All things were created by Him and to Him (Colossians 1:16), to express Him. So God the Father is this beaming ray of light, too bright to gaze directly upon. And the cloud is the “mystery” that Paul wrote about in his epistles. God doesn’t hide from us, or conceal Himself from us. He is wanting to reveal and express Himself. However, we know from the account of Moses on Mount Sinai, that anyone who gazes directly upon the face of God will perish. It’s simply too much for fallen man’s mind to handle (at least this is my interpretation of it). But Christ, who came as fully Man and fully God, is the cloud. He makes it possible for you and I to gaze upon the Father’s glory without being harmed (if you look at the Sun too long with the naked eye, you will go blind).

Also you will notice how the light behind the cloud is almost magnified and made more beautiful than it would normally be alone. This is because the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit are always looking to magnify and glorify each other. Jesus constantly said, “Look to the Father!” The Father says, “Listen to the Son!” And the Holy Spirit reveals them both to us as He comes to indwell us. This is holy community. Though He is one God, He has three parts (I wish not to go into the theological implications of this statement, that’s not the main point here).

So, I just thought I’d share that for whoever may benefit from it. Take a minute to look at the image and see if you spot anything else.

